Eggless Spinach and Goat-cheese Soufflé

November 14, 2010 § 21 Comments

Dave and Linda from Monkeyshines in the Kitchen chose Soufflés as our November 2010 Daring Cooks’ Challenge! Dave and Linda provided many of their own delicious recipes plus a sinfully decadent chocolate soufflé recipe adapted from Gordon Ramsay’s recipe found at the BBC Good Food website.

Of course, being a lacto vegetarian, I wasn’t able to use any of those recipes!!

This was my first month participating in the Daring Cooks’ Challenge, so I couldn’t sit this one out, even though this is probably the worst possible challenge for a vegan/lacto vegetarian. On the positive side, I guess the challenges can only get less stressful from here on out!! In search of an eggless soufflé recipe, I scoured the internet. All of the ‘eggless’ versions required gelatin (which is collagen from animal bones), so that didn’t quite work out for me. Every single vegan version I found contained tofu, and I was not keen on eating a chocolate tofu concoction, so I settled on a savoury flavor. I didn’t follow any particular recipe, or any recipe at all. I kind of just felt my way through the process after looking at the pictures of some of the other challengers’ processes (what the consistency should look like before putting it in the oven, etc), and reading the ingredient lists of the vegan versions. One of the challengers just blended a panang tofu curry and baked it. This, quite frankly, is what inspired me to not give up (so thank you!!).

I ended up sautéing a tofu scramble with frozen spinach and goat cheese, and then mixed in a multi-grain pancake/milk batter. I then blended this mixture until it formed a liquid, filled my lightly oiled cup, and baked on 350 degrees for 25 minutes. There were a couple of failed iterations before settling on this one finally. Because it was a test batch, I ended up not having enough ‘batter’ to fill the cup to the brim, which is actually essential to see proof that it rose (key component to soufflé-ing). To compensate, I tried to photograph the innards so you can see the liquidy center surrounded by the cooked, spongy outer ring. I am not a fan of puréed savoury food, so I probably would never again make a savoury soufflé. I would, however, LOVE to make a chocolate soufflé. Only, I wouldn’t dream of using tofu to make it. I will experiment with egg replacers to see what I can come with. But, in the meantime, please accept my humble soufflé.

§ 21 Responses to Eggless Spinach and Goat-cheese Soufflé

  • Ruth H. says:

    Congratulations on your first challenge! I love the green souffle… It looks like something I would just have to try! I was curious to see what vegans would do with this challenge, and I am glad that you didn’t shy away. (But don’t be scared of chocolate and tofu – if can actually be a very good combination!!)

    • theveggie says:

      I took a look at your souffle, and I think that it probably would have been much more appetizing for me to not have blended the mixture. Your souffle looks like a warm gooey gratin on the inside. Wish I could eat that one =) I’ll have to experiment with the tofu, although I’m still skeptical, but thanks for the tip to be open.

    • Kelly says:

      yes, I have made a chocolate tofu whip using soft tofu and melted bitter chocolate, adding sweetner and a touch of cinnamon…blend together and pour into a mold or pre baked pie crust and refrigerate until firm…top with your favorite topping…it’s wonderful.

    • Kelly says:

      One more comment…you can use agar agar in place of animal gelatin. It can be a little bit weaker than gelatin, but it works.

  • Sweet Freak says:

    Bravo! It looks & sounds delicious. There’s a soufflé restaurant here in Paris that I’m dying to try… but I can only imagine how much dairy they use!

  • outoftheoven says:

    Congratulations on your first challenge! I am highly impressed with your eggless soufflé – well done!

  • Shelley C says:

    I am so impressed by how well you adapted this challenge to your dietary needs – you absolutely stepped up to the plate on your first challenge and hit it out of the park!! Really great job!!

  • lisamichele says:

    I LOVE what you did with this challenge. Who would ever think you could get such a ‘poofy’ souffle minus eggs? I would love to try it! Kudos on a beautiful job – it looks and sounds delicious!

  • Fantastic job with this challenge! We knew it would be a difficult one for vegans, but honestly were looking forward to learning from how you approached it. Your spinach souffle looks just marvellous – I love the color of it!

    And welcome to the Daring Cooks!

  • Monet says:

    Congratulations on your first challenge…I would have been at a complete loss! You are obviously a very creative and brave cook. This vegan souffle looks great! Thank you for sharing. I hope your week brims with hope and joy.

  • Jenn says:

    I am SO impressed with this. You did the impossible by making an eggless soufflé!

    • theveggie says:

      There were some awesome vegan versions out there that I saw posted on the forum, particularly the chocolate one!! I hope to make a better, i.e. chocolate version soon!

  • I like the color, and the spinach and goat cheese mix sounds great! Have you cooked with agar agar in place of gelatin? I keep meaning to experiment with other options in place of gelatin.

    • theveggie says:

      A friend recently told me about agar agar. Have you used it? I have to trek out to one of those natural foods superstores to find it. The next time I’m out that way I will pick up some interesting things. First on my list though is egg replacer. Weirdly, I can’t get it at the grocery stores near me.

  • Meghna Kumar says:

    Where is the recipe for this? I love your blog but I am finding it difficult to get the recipes for what you’re making.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Eggless Spinach and Goat-cheese Soufflé at Veggie Test Kitchen.

meta

