Veggie flatbread pizza (easy + low-fat!)

September 23, 2010 § 2 Comments

We found the most amazing flatbread recently. I recently used it in my post about bruschetta. This flatbread is low in fat and is bread-y enough, yet crisps easily when toasted. It is, I have to say, the best flatbread I’ve ever had. We only bought one package on first encounter, but once tasted, we went back (the same day, no exaggeration, and I have to say quite unusual for us) to stock up and fill our freezer. Items such as this are good to keep around in the event that you come home late and have no plans for dinner. I’m beginning to be more conscious about my gluten intake, so this isn’t something I’ll be eating, or cooking with very often, but it definitely is a lifesaver for those nights when you’re famished and just don’t know what to cook. 

Veggie flatbread pizza:
1 large flatbread
1/4 cup pesto sauce (which will serve as the base, although the brand we bought is a pesto flatbread)
1/4 – 1/2 cup grated cheeses (parmesan, mozzarella, gorgonzola, this is simply a matter of preference, as is the quantity)
1 medium sized tomato
1 cup of broccoli heads and stems, cut to small pieces
1 bell pepper 
1/2 cup chopped zucchini pieces
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 tbsp of cooking oil 

Sautée the garlic in oil on medium heat. Add the veggies. Cook until slightly tender (take care not to over-cook the veggies). Spread the veggies onto the flatbread and sprinkle cheese on top. Bake in a toaster oven on ‘toast’ until the cheese is melted. Eat and enjoy!

Question for the readers: Now that I’ve hit 20+ posts, I just want to find out for the 5 readers out there =) (love you!) how am I doing? Do you like the inclusion of easy meals that aren’t always from scratch (like this one)? And how about the reviews? Any of you out there who would like to see more vegan recipes? I’d love to hear your suggestions regarding how I can make this blog better for you, so please leave your comments. I can’t wait to hear them.

§ 2 Responses to Veggie flatbread pizza (easy + low-fat!)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Veggie flatbread pizza (easy + low-fat!) at Veggie Test Kitchen.

meta

