Broccoli potato cakes (Vegan)

September 18, 2010 § 2 Comments

As I’m sure you can tell by now, I am a bit obsessed with whole wheat cous cous. It stems from the belief that whole wheat is healthier than white flour based wheat. Many of my friends have recently cut down on gluten on the recommendation of their doctors. From what I understand, at some point the body becomes unable to breakdown the gluten that is in wheat, and then develops an autoimmune disease. My friends have noticed very clear changes in their health due to cutting out gluten, and milk in the case of others. I’ve always been precautious, perhaps overwhelmingly so, and am leaning towards cutting down on my dairy for starters, and maybe being more mindful of my wheat intake. I’ve already completely cut out white bread. We’ll see how it pans out. I’ll spend more time @ the blog on vegan and gluten-free recipes from here on forward. So, here’s another cous cous recipe. Cherish it b/c you may not see another for awhile =) I hear quinoa is a good substitute, so I’ll spend some time on experimenting with that as a base. That’s what the Veggie Test Kitchen is all about, experimentation!!!

Broccoli cous cous potato cakes
(makes about 9 small-ish squares) I simply altered the recipe (and the shape) of my earlier cous cous potato cake recipe, adding broccoli/hummus/cous cous w. the potato.

1/2 cup cooked whole wheat cous cous
1/2 cup chopped broccoli (you want to chop the broccoli as small as possible)
1/4 cup of hummus
1 small boiled potato
salt and pepper to taste

Mix the ingredients together, first with a fork. Eventually you will want to get your hands in the mix to really smash and incorporate all of the ingredients together to get the right consistency for frying (see my cous cous potato cake recipe, linked above, for a picture of what the mixture should look like before pan frying). Spoon out the mixture into small balls (you can shape them anyway you like: squares, discs, etc. Just make sure that they’re a uniform thickness. This is so that they will cook evenly). Pan fry and serve!

§ 2 Responses to Broccoli potato cakes (Vegan)

  • This is what I’ve been looking for, I have some leftover mashed potato
    so I’m going to roast some broccoli with garlic & pine nuts and add it to the mix. Might do a polenta coating aswell and serve with a basil pesto & tomato sauce, will let you know….

    • theveggie says:

      omg, let me know. that sounds so good!! I just discovered polenta (late bloomer i know). i love it as a carb sub. if you make this, please blog about it. i’m eager to see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Broccoli potato cakes (Vegan) at Veggie Test Kitchen.

meta

