Stuffed Pan-fried Squash Blossoms

November 29, 2010 § 8 Comments

The town I spent Thanksgiving in is a coastal village of sorts, and the farmer’s market is right in the heart of a charming, one-storied downtown that sits at the foot of the Pacific Ocean. I know, life could be worse. I partially grew up in this town but had never been to the farmer’s market. In my defense, I never really cared about quality or locally grown food until many years after moving away. I ran right into this market on a last-minute Thanksgiving run around town, and was surprised to see many of the stalls carrying squash blossoms this late in the year. This is one of the advantages to farming in paradise!

Step 1: Wash the lovelies

The first stall I stopped at had the most beautiful blossoms with large cavities, and since I had never tried them I had a chat with the vendor who kindly showed me how to remove the pistil to stuff them and explained how they should be pan-fried. I’m such a sucker, I bought them from him @ 5.99/lb. The first stall! You never buy produce from the first stall!! You’re suppose to take a lap, check out the goods, then go home with the market’s best products. I’ve read plenty of how-tos, first hand accounts of trickery and foolish purchases. But away I went giddy with my blossoms, mind already buzzing about how I would stuff them, when I found another stall selling bunches of 10 for $1!!!! Sigh, lesson learned.  

I brought them back to make a tea snack, stuffing them with goat cheese, basil dried from our plant that sadly died at the end of summer, garlic powder and cracked black pepper. A pictorial recipe follows sans exact measurements, as this quick experiment resulted in lots of joy and little recording.

Step 2: Remove the pistil and stuff the cavity with your filling (I used a blend of goat cheese, home-dried basil, garlic powder and cracked black pepper)

Step 3: Tie them shut. This is a tricky and perhaps controversial step. The string is going to be a pain to remove after the frying process, but it's the only way I found to keep the cavity shut without damaging the petals.

Step 4: Coat the stuffed and contained blossoms in milk and then roll them in flour.

Step 5: Pan-fry and enjoy

A special thank you to our lovely friend C. who hosted Thanksgiving at her home this year along with a hike (we’re healthy vegetarians!) and fruit picking out in the country. I came home with enough pomegranates to experiment for weeks, so an advance apology goes out to those of you loyal readers who may tire of the headlines. I took oreo truffles, mint chocolate truffles and an apple, goat-cheese and persimmon tart to the Thanksgiving feast; all were made leisurely over the span of a few days. The trick was to make the tart dough on Tuesday. It lived in the refrigerator until Thursday morning. The oreo truffles were also made ahead of time and refrigerated. I made the mint chocolate truffles the night before with a friend as a fun activity for movie night, where we feasted on a deep-dish pizza experiment which used a vegan version of my tart dough. The pizza was amazing, and I will post all about in the future because I definitely plan on making it again and again!

The apple, persimmon + goat cheese tart

Gratuitous shot of the rustic tart

We ran into goats on our way over to C's brother's pomegranate and persimmon orchards, which we looted in good vegetarian fashion

§ 8 Responses to Stuffed Pan-fried Squash Blossoms

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stuffed Pan-fried Squash Blossoms at Veggie Test Kitchen.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

