Oreo Chocolate Truffles

November 24, 2010 § 17 Comments

I’ve been randomly watching too many videos on tempering chocolate and other wonderful confections recently. My goal is to chart a serious course in the wonderful world of chocolatier-ing at some point in the future. The whole process. Down to the beans. This is a dream I guess you could say. I’ve been thinking about this recently. If there were no limits to what you could spend your life and days doing, what might you do?? Without a doubt, I would spend my mornings making pastries and confections in some well-light Parisian kitchen. I would have a fail-proof recipe for eggless double-decker macaroons that taste not much different from the wonderful goodness on display at Ladurée down the way. I’d spend my nights with the expats, and my vacations scouring the world, Indonesia, Ecuador… for the best cocoa crops. I’d retire to trading beans on the exchanges, and probably die as fulfilled as one can be after a life on earth. Maybe writing it down counts for something to the universe?? One can only hope, I suppose.

Making truffles in my little kitchen is a humble attempt into this world, and at that Oreo ‘truffle’s. A gateway to the gateway you could say. If oreo truffles could even be called truffles is suspect, as they lack the central tenet of truffle-ism, which is to possess a ganache heart. We can leave tradition and let it slide for the moment, as we’re currently spending our days in the States, which is about innovation and evolution, and lexical violations that might inspire people to venture in their kitchens with a smile are OK.

Ruminations aside, these are tremendously easy to make for those of you out there who may be thinking this is something you just cannot do at home due to the mess factor, the burning chocolate factor (this is real, and a menace, I have burned holes through many storage apperatusses due to overheating chocolate), or any other factor. It requires simply, one pair of hands, a double boiler, oreos, cream cheese and semi-sweet baking chocolate. The recipe I used is quite widely disseminated over the web. I think that maybe the only unique aspect in my go at it is that I chose to coat my truffles in melted dark chocolate. For the oreo truffle, many people choose to coat in melted white chocolate. If I were to do it again, which I definitely will, I would never again coat truffles in melted chocolate. I am going to get creative with the powder coatings. It’s the cleanest, most presentable method, and further, truffle centers tend to be quite rich so coating them with a powder would result in a more balanced finished piece.

Oreo Chocolate Truffles
(makes 20 two-bite pieces)

21 oreo cookies (do not get the double-stuffed stuff), uniformly crushed
4 oz of full-fat cream cheese, at room temperature
1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate baking chips

Mix the crushed oreos and the cream cheese with your hands until both are thoroughly incorporated. You should be left with a ball that looks like stiff mud. Roll out small balls with a melon scoop or with your hands. You should end up with about 20 small balls (as pictured). In a double boiler (or in the microwave, but be careful if you plan to use a microwave, as chocolate heats very quickly. I would suggest using a glass bowl and zapping at 15 second intervals, stirring in between), melt your chocolate chips until smooth, stirring consistently. Turn off the heat and dip your oreo balls in the melted chocolate. Lay the truffles on wax paper to harden. You can garnish your truffles with toppings before they set. Refrigerate for about an hour to allow the truffles to set. These can be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to one week.

Cheers.

§ 17 Responses to Oreo Chocolate Truffles

  • spabettie says:

    oh my… these look amazeballs. ;) *hee hee…

  • kate says:

    I am drooling. literally.

  • Call these what you want but I’ll agree to toss all technicalities aside and refer to these as Oreo truffles. These look so rich, sweet and delicious! I love all things sweet so I applaud your dream to pursue the art of sweets in general! There are so many details into making those lucious desserts that most people just take it for granted when they pick up a pan of “whatevers” on the way to a dinner invite. Burning chocolate frustrates me so I am taking on lesser battles now and leaving that one to the pro’s. :)

    • theveggie says:

      re: burning chocolate. i think the microwave is doable if you use a glass dish and zap in very short intervals, say 15 seconds and keep stirring in between. otherwise, double boiler is the way to go. keep the water at a simmer, not quite a boil and keep stirring. you should be good. with the leftover chocolate in the bowl i like to throw in frozen cool whip and make a nice mousse for the chef =)

      • Now *there’s* a good idea! And no chocolate gets wasted. I will start hinting for a double boiler for Christmas.

      • theveggie says:

        You can make one if you have a soup pot and a stainless steel bowl (the kind you use for mixing random veggies and other things in). Put the steel bowl in the soup pot, so long as the stainless steel bowl is large enough that it doesn’t sink down where the bottom of it touches the water. if the bottom of the bowl touches the hot water, finito. you’re done. the chocolate will burn. I should have posted a picture. I’ll get around to that in the next few days.

  • Elmira LSE says:

    Can I use other cookies, we do not have oreo here?

    • theveggie says:

      Yes, just make sure the cookies are chocolate. Truffle centers should be rich and chocolate-y, so make sure your cookie is a solid chocolate, as opposed to chocolate chip or something.

  • the food here looks amazing! i’ll have to test out a few of these recipies ;) thanks for stopping by my site!

    jennifer
    http://www.mylittleadventures.wordpress.com

  • Amy says:

    These are awesome ;)! They can be called truffles if you want them to be, who cares if they don’t have ganache…these are much more exciting!

  • Chef Dennis says:

    ahhh the joy of chocolate! The oreo truffles look so decadent…I would love to taste test 5 or 6 right now…..perhaps an espresso……sigh….
    and I am with you on making pastries in Paris..just to be able to shop in the markets every morning and return home to cook the days meals…thats my dream.

    hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!
    Dennis

    • theveggie says:

      Thanks Dennis! The dream is what keeps us going. But, the west coast is kind of a paradise of its own. We get the fresh interesting ingredients year round!! This is the season to be thankful =)

  • Wow, they look really super delicious. Great post!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oreo Chocolate Truffles at Veggie Test Kitchen.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

